To My Roomies, With Love

Dear Roommates,

The beginning of this school year was rough, and quite unfamiliar for me. I moved, we moved, to a new home away from home that was shared with three complete strangers. I did not know what to look forward to, or, reversely, what not to. I figured (as I learned that many do) that we would all get along splendidly and that we would live, and experience part of our college career together this year. I was not entirely wrong, and it just took me a little while to figure that out.  

At first, I was not entirely sure how to feel about you guys. I came to the realization that I did not know how to deal with these new situations that presented themselves in our little dorm. I found it a little difficult to live with people who did not share the same principles and ways of living that I do.

But, really it has just taught me more about myself. Without your knowing, my sense of self and values were impacted through your actions and words. I felt myself slowly becoming more open to embracing new ideas, new people, situations, and, honestly, everything in between. I started to really define who I am as a person-what I believe in and what I don’t, how I feel about certain topics, how much I am willing to clean, if it was okay to rearrange the living room without asking anyone about it, and the list goes on and on.

And though we may occasionally have our disagreements, you have shown me what it means to accept the values, actions, and decisions of others, no matter the situation. You have opened my eyes to a world of differences, of possibilities, of openness.

It’s been enlightening to learn more about myself, and others, how we can all live together in this college, in this world. Thank you for your part in teaching me this lesson.

With love,

Nix

Leave a Reply

