Walking & Shopping

aviary-photo_131199287446714951This past week we were encouraged to participate in the Worldwide WordPress 5k event. We were instructed to be active and walk a distance of about three miles. To be honest, at first I was a little hesitant about the idea. I felt pressured as the realization that I would have to be active.  I did not think about it too long though. As the week went on, I forgot about the assignment. And eventually, I went back home for the weekend.

At home, I sat with my parents and talked. I have no idea how I came to this thought, but I realized how much I walk in my day to day life. So, we started discussing this fact. Eventually, my stepdad challenged me. He thought that he could out walk a college student with no car. HA!

The next day I remembered the assignment. My mind was whirling; how could I walk so much in so little time? Little did I know that it did not take that much effort. That day my mom wanted to go shopping. Of course, I agreed to join. What kind of person would I be if I didn’t? At this moment right before my eyes  I saw two opportunities present themselves at once. Primarily (and maybe more importantly), I may be able to convince my mom to buy me some clothes. Second, I could complete my assignment and beat my stepdad in the one day step challenge both at once.

And so, off I went. Set into full swing was a day of wandering and shopping. I knew that I had a chance to succeed. We went everywhere, and we kept walking. When we arrived back home, I figured I had my stepdad beat. At the time, I did. By the end of the day I had reached way beyond three miles, and I had thousands of steps. But somehow, my stepdad won. I now know that when we left his house, he had walked around in circles in his living room just so he could beat me. I may have lost that competition, but at least my mom bought be clothes and I completed my assignment.

Leave a Reply

